HISTORY OF LUXURY CITY CENTRAL HOTEL AMBASSADOR IN VIENNA

OUR HISTORy

The Ambassador Hotel looks back on a tradition that is substantially shaped by 200 years of contemporary history.

The rich history of the Ambassador reflects the historic and urban evolution of downtown Vienna. The surroundings of the hotel and the building itself are part of a fascinating past and an active today.

News categories
  • All
  • 1234
  • 1375
  • 1697
  • 1726
  • 1739
  • 1781
  • 1785
  • 1798
  • 1831
  • 1837
  • 1866
  • 1897
  • 1898
  • 1926
  • 1930
  • 1945
  • 1954
  • 1974
  • 1998
  • 2001
  • 2003
  • 2010
  • 2011
  • 2017
  • 1234

    1234

    First documented mention of the Neuer Markt.

  • 1375

    1375

    First mention as the "Mehlgroube", the building which in 1418 becomes the City's flour store, which controls weights, measures and the price of flour.

  • 1697

    1697

    The Mehlgrube is demolished and rebuilt according to plans drawn up by Johann Bernhard Fischer of Erlach. The City of Vienna has an exclusive place of entertainment built on the site of the old flour store.

  • 1726

    1726

    With the completion of the new building there is now a prestigious public establishment which is used for dances, masked balls and other occasions (especially for an aristocratic clientele). The first balls are put on by the dancing master Accriboni, by order of Prince Eugene.

  • 1739

    1739

    Opening of the Donnerbrunnen fountain, a Baroque masterpiece by Georg Raphael Donner, on the Neuer Markt.

  • 1781

    1781

    The Mehlgrube is converted into a concert hall, and the first concerts are held for music lovers, including music by Ludwig van Beethoven and Johann Nepomuk Hummel.

  • 1785

    1785

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart gives his first subscription concert in the Mehlgrube.

  • 1798

    1798

    On October 28, the building is reopened as the Gasthaus "Zur Mehlgrube". The landlord, Michael Mörus, runs the inn until 1831. He incorporates the old tradition and brings balls and concerts back to the building.

    Beethoven, a habitué of the Gasthaus "Zum Weißen Schwan", conducts in the Mehlgrube between 1798 and 1813.

  • 1831

    1831

    Mathias Czermak renovates the building again and converts it into a "casino", which at that time meant a combination of an inn, a concert hall and a coffee house.

    Czermak is able to engage the famous conductors Lanner and Morelly to perform in his casino. In addition, evening meetings of journalists are held, from which is later to emerge the journalists' and authors' association Concordia, formed in 1859.

  • 1837

    1837

    Franz Xaver Munsch takes over the Mehlgrube. He carries on the tradition started by his father, Franz Anton Munsch, and brings the highest standards of hospitality to the Mehlgrube. In doing so he takes the first important steps in the direction of the present day.

  • 1866

    1866

    Franz Xaver Munsch completes the conversion of the Mehlgrube into a hotel. This decision happily coincides with the beginning of the Wiener Gründerzeit, the period of Vienna's commercial and industrial expansion. With the opening of the Hotel Munsch begins a period of rising standards on a grandiose scale.

  • 1897

    1897

    Josef Krantz acquires the Hotel Munsch and has the Mehlgrube demolished in order to construct a new building with architecture in the style of the Italian Renaissance, which would fulfill the requirements of the latest developments in the hotel business at that time.

  • 1898

    1898

    The Hotel Krantz-Ambassador is opened. The following years are a truly glittering period in the history of the present day Ambassador Hotel, and the guest list from that period reads like an extract from the Gotha.

    Among the guests are celebrities such as Luitpold Prince Regent of Bavaria (one of the first guests at the new hotel), Wilhelm Prince of Hohenzollern (one of the sons of the German Emperor Wilhelm II), and many more. But the guests not only include political figures and members of the high aristocracy. From a balcony of the Hotel Krantz-Ambassador Samuel Langhorne Clemens, better known as Mark Twain, watches the solemn funeral procession which accompanies the mortal remains of the Empress Elisabeth, known as "Sisi", to their last resting place in the Imperial Burial Vault. She had been stabbed by the Italian anarchist Luigi Lucheni in Geneva on September 10, 1898.

    (Gotha: Gothaische Genealogische Taschenbücher (Gotha Genealogical Pocket Books, genealogical pocket reference work in four sections; still in print)

  • 1926

    1926

    June 6

    Kauf der Krantz Aktien durch Baumeister Alois Rous für seine Tochter Maria "Mimi". Rous ist Stadtbaumeister, Erbauer und damaliger Besitzer des heutigen Hanusch-Krankenhauses und kaiserlicher Rat, Träger des Ritterkreuzes des Franz-Joseph-Ordens (Großvater der heutigen Besitzerinnen).

  • 1926

    1926

    Birth of twin sisters Edith Philp and Erika Schleiffelder, née Senft, the present owners.

  • 1930

    1930

    October

    The composer Franz Lehár, a friend of the hotel, gives a concert to open the restaurant named after him.

  • 1945

    1945

    March 12

    The facade of the Krantz-Ambassador on the Kärntner Straße is almost destroyed by two aircraft bombs. Rebuilding begins in April; from June 1945 on the Krantz-Ambassador is always known as the Ambassador Hotel.

  • 1954

    1954

    The Ambassador is used to accommodate the first major state visitor (the Emperor Hailie Selassie of Ethiopia) and until 1957 remains the hotel in Vienna for official visitors to the Republic of Austria.

  • 1974

    1974

    On the occasion of the opening of the Kärntner Straße as a pedestrian precinct in August, the open-air café of the Ambassador Hotel is opened.

  • 1998

    1998

    The Ambassador Hotel celebrates its centennial.

  • 2001

    2001

    Following general renovation the Ambassador Hotel is reopened with 86 beautifully appointed rooms.

    The renovation works take full account of the architectural quality of the building and are planned down to the tiniest detail. Today, antique marble pillars blend with new structures in wood and glass. The stucco moldings have been redecorated and the Untersberger marble has been fully exposed. Black marble from South Africa, fine dark wood and "panorama" lifts have been integrated in a masterly fashion.

  • 2003

    2003

    For more than 100 years the Ambassador Hotel has offered a timeless elegance to be found in no other hotel. Right up to the present day, the unique symbiosis of the traditional and the modern, the past and the present, gives our establishment its special flair of a top hotel.

  • 2010

    2010

    The famous writer Samuel Langhorne Clemens (November 30, 1835 – April 21, 1910), known by his pen name Mark Twain, stayed at the Hotel Krantz, now Ambassador, from October 1898 until May 1899.

    April 21 marked the 100th anniversary of Twain’s death, offering U.S. Embassy Vienna the opportunity to spotlight the American writer and his ties to Austria. On April 21, 2010, a commemorative plaque is unveiled at the Ambassador Hotel where Twain lived for several months.

  • 2011

    2011

    Reconstruction of the hotels’ top floors and opening of 4 newly arranged apartments. The modern design of the apartments as well as the luxurious amenities provide utmost comfort for short or long stays. 

  • 2017

    2017

    Relaunch of the Ambassador website.

    The Ambassador Hotel presents its new website with state-of-the-art technology and a modern design.

tradition & present

"Situated in the finest part of the city, and provided with all modern comforts" - This was the wording of the advertisement placed by the hotel, under the name of "Hotel Krantz", in the Wiener Zeitung, issue number 127, on Saturday 4th June 1898, page 12. The description we gave of ourselves back then still fits today.

It is with full justification that the Ambassador Hotel, with its more than 100 year old history, can designate itself as one of the richest buildings in the city in terms of tradition. And not just in respect of its function as a hotel. The Ambassador Hotel has been welcoming people over the course of the decades in a wide variety of functions, and under different names. The range of its use extends from that of a private house, to its use as an exclusive ballroom for the highest echelons of Vienna society, from a concert hall to the finest of hotels. Luxury and tradition in a stylish atmosphere, together with the latest technical equipment – this is what the Ambassador Hotel, fully refurbished in 2000, provides for its guests today. This unique symbiosis of the traditional and the modern, the past and the present, artistic refinement and pure pleasure gives our time honored establishment its special flair as a top hotel.

celebrity guests

Like a scarlet thread, the themes of literature, architecture and, repeatedly, music run through the history of the building.

Musicians of all periods and all different styles have found inspiration here, and indeed often a suitable framework within which to present their latest compositions to the public. From Mozart to the present day, there has been a succession of musicians who have spent time here, sometimes to make music, sometimes to compose or to relax. Works by Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, Lanner, to name but a few, have been presented to the music loving Viennese public by the masters themselves. Franz Lehár was a close friend of the hotel, and in 1930 handed over to the owners of the Ambassador some autographs, all of which can still be admired in the hotel today.

But the special character of this place is not reserved for musicians alone. Writers, actors, dancers, politicians, members of the higher aristocracy, businessmen and industrialists continue to be inspired by this place as they always have been, finding here the rest and peace that they need.

The little secrets of these outstanding people – what we call the "guest histories" – are still kept like a valuable horde of treasure in a filing box in the management office.

Here is a brief extract from our guest list:

  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • Henry Ford III
  • Charles A. Lindbergh
  • Mark Twain
  • Thornton Wilder
  • H. C. Artmann
  • Marlene Dietrich
  • Romy Schneider
  • Josephine Baker
  • Maria Jeritza Seery
  • Martha Eggerth
  • Svatoslav Richter
  • Jan Kiepura
  • Franz Lehár
  • Robert Schumann
  • Louis Trenker
  • Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru
  • Emperor Haile Selassie I
  • Prince Xavier of Bourbon-Parma
  • Infanta Isabella, Princess of Asturias
  • Prince Norodom Sihanouk of Cambodia
  • Wilhelm Erbprinz von Hohenzollern
  • Princess Helen of Greece
  • Princess Marie Alexandra Victoria of Edinburgh

Direct Booking Bonus

  • Best rate guaranteed
  • No additional fees
  • Customized offers in line with your requests
  • Personal service prior to your stay
  • 24-hours concierge service
  • Free-Wlan
  • We look forward to your inquiry.

GESCHICHTE

Das Hotel Ambassador kann auf eine Tradition zurückblicken, die von den letzten 200 Jahren Zeitgeschichte wesentlich geprägt ist.

Wirft man einen ausführlichen Blick auf die Geschichte des Ambassador, offenbart sich das Spiegelbild der historischen und städtebaulichen Entwicklung der Wiener Innenstadt. Der Platz, auf dem das Ambassador liegt, und das Gebäude selbst sind Teil einer bewegten Vergangenheit und eines lebendigen Heute.

ZEITACHSE
  • ALLE
  • 1234
  • 1375
  • 1697
  • 1726
  • 1739
  • 1781
  • 1785
  • 1798
  • 1831
  • 1837
  • 1866
  • 1897
  • 1898
  • 1926
  • 1930
  • 1945
  • 1954
  • 1974
  • 1998
  • 2001
  • 2003
  • 2010
  • 2011
  • 2017
  • 1234

    1234

    Erste urkundliche Erwähnung des Neuen Marktes.

  • 1375

    1375

    Erste Erwähnung als "Mehlgroube", jenes Haus, das 1418 städtisches Mehldepot und Metzenleihanstalt wird.

  • 1697

    1697

    Die Mehlgrube wird abgerissen und nach den Plänen von Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach neu gebaut. Die Stadt Wien lässt an Stelle des alten Mehldepots eine exklusive Vergnügungsstätte errichten.

  • 1726

    1726

    Mit Fertigstellung des neuen Gebäudes ist eine repräsentative, öffentliche Einrichtung entstanden, die für Bälle, Redouten und sonstige Feste (vor allem einer aristokratischen Klientel) verwendet wird. Die ersten Bälle inszeniert der Tanzmeister Accriboni im Auftrag Prinz Eugens.

  • 1739

    1739

    Eröffnung des Donnerbrunnen am Neuen Markt, der ein barockes Meisterwerk von Georg Raphael Donner ist.

  • 1781

    1781

    Die Mehlgrube wird in ein Konzertlokal umfunktioniert und die ersten Liebhaberkonzerte werden veranstaltet, unter anderem mit Ludwig van Beethoven und Johann Nepomuk Hummel.

  • 1785

    1785

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart gibt sein erstes Abonnement-Konzert in der Mehlgrube.

  • 1798

    1798

    Am 28. Oktober wird das Haus als Gasthaus "Zur Mehlgrube" wieder eröffnet. Der Wirt Michael Mörus führt das Haus bis 1831. Er integriert die alte Tradition und holt Bälle und Konzerte zurück ins Haus.

    Beethoven, der Stammgast im Gasthaus "Zum Weißen Schwan" ist, dirigiert in der Mehlgrube zwischen 1798 und 1813.

  • 1831

    1831

    Mathias Czermak renoviert das Haus abermals und funktioniert es in ein Casino um, worunter man damals ein Mittelding zwischen Wirts-, Konzert- und Caféhaus verstand.

    Es gelingt Czermak, die bekannten Kapellmeister Lanner und Morelly für sein Haus zu verpflichten. Außerdem werden hier Journalistenabende abgehalten, aus denen später der 1859 gegründete Journalisten- und Schriftstellerverein Concordia hervorgeht.

  • 1837

    1837

    Franz Xaver Munsch übernimmt die Mehlgrube. Er übernimmt dabei die Tradition seines Vaters, Franz Anton Munsch, bringt anspruchsvolle Gastlichkeit in die Mehlgrube und legt somit eine erste wichtige Weiche in Richtung Gegenwart.

  • 1866

    1866

    Franz Xaver Munsch lässt die Mehlgrube in ein Hotel umbauen. Die Entscheidung fällt idealerweise mit dem Beginn der Wiener Gründerzeit zusammen. Mit der Eröffnung des Hotel Munsch beginnt ein grandioser Aufstieg.

  • 1897

    1897

    Josef Krantz erwirbt das Hotel Munsch und lässt die Mehlgrube abreißen, um einen Neubau zu errichten, der architektonisch dem Stil der italienischen Renaissance gleicht und den damaligen Anforderungen modernster Hotellerie entspricht.

  • 1898

    1898

    Das Hotel Krantz-Ambassador wird eröffnet. Die ersten Jahre nach der Neueröffnung des Hauses bilden eine überaus glanzvolle Periode in der Geschichte des heutigen Ambassador und so liest sich die Gästeliste jener Tage wie ein Auszug aus dem Gotha.

    Unter den Gästen sind Zelebritäten wie Luitpold Prinzregent von Bayern, übrigens einer der ersten Gäste des neuen Hauses, Wilhelm Erbprinz von Hohenzollern, ein Sohn des deutschen Kaisers Wilhelm II. und viele mehr. Aber nicht nur Personen aus Politik und Hochadel zählen zu den Gästen. Samuel Langhorne Clemens, besser bekannt als Mark Twain, beobachtet vom Balkon eines Zimmers aus den feierlichen Trauerzug, der die sterblichen Überreste Kaiserin Elisabeths, vulgo "Sisi", zu ihrer letzten Ruhestätte in der Kaisergruft begleitet. Sie war am 10.09.1898 in Genf von dem italienischen Anarchisten Luigi Lucheni erdolcht worden.

    (Gotha: Gothaische Genealogische Taschenbücher. Genealogisches Taschennachschlagewerk in vier Abteilungen; bis dato erschienen)

  • 1926

    1926

    June 6

    Kauf der Krantz Aktien durch Baumeister Alois Rous für seine Tochter Maria "Mimi". Rous ist Stadtbaumeister, Erbauer und damaliger Besitzer des heutigen Hanusch-Krankenhauses und kaiserlicher Rat, Träger des Ritterkreuzes des Franz-Joseph-Ordens (Großvater der heutigen Besitzerinnen).

  • 1926

    1926

    Geburtsjahr der Zwillingsschwestern Edith Philp und Erika Schleiffelder, geborene Senft, den heutigen Besitzerinnen.

  • 1930

    1930

    October

    Der Komponist Franz Lehár, Freund des Hauses, eröffnet das nach ihm benannte Restaurant mit einem Konzert.

  • 1945

    1945

    12. März

    Die Fassade des Krantz-Ambassador an der Kärntner Straße wird durch zwei Fliegerbomben fast zerstört, im April beginnt der Wiederaufbau. Ab Juni 1945 heißt das Krantz-Ambassador nur mehr Hotel Ambassador.

  • 1954

    1954

    Das Ambassador beherbergt den ersten großen Staatsbesuch (Kaiser Haile Selassie von Äthiopien) und bleibt bis 1957 das Wiener Hotel für offizielle Gäste der Republik Österreich.

  • 1974

    1974

    Anlässlich der Eröffnung der Fußgängerzone Kärntner Straße im August wird der Schanigarten des Hotel Ambassador eröffnet.

  • 1998

    1998

    Das Hotel Ambassador feiert sein 100-jähriges Jubiläum.

  • 2001

    2001

    Das Hotel Ambassador wird mit 86 liebevoll eingerichteten Zimmern nach einer Generalrenovierung wiedereröffnet.

    Unter Berücksichtigung der architektonischen Beschaffenheit werden die bis ins kleinste Detail durchdachten Arbeiten durchgeführt. Nun fügen sich alte Marmorsäulen zu neuen Holz- und Glaskonstruktionen, Untersberger Marmor wird vollständig freigelegt. Die historischen Stuckdecken erstrahlen in neuem Glanz, schwarzer, südafrikanischer Marmor, dunkles Edelholz und Panorama-Aufzüge werden meisterhaft integriert.

  • 2003

    2003

    Seit inzwischen über 100 Jahren bietet das Hotel Ambassador zeitlose Eleganz wie kein anderes Hotel. Die einzigartige Symbiose aus Tradition und Moderne, aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart verleiht dem Haus bis heute das besondere Flair eines Spitzenhotels.

  • 2010

    2010

    Der berühmte Schriftsteller Samuel Langhorne Clemens (30.11.1835 – 21.04.1910), besser bekannt unter seinem Künstlernamen Mark Twain, wohnte von Oktober 1898 bis Mai 1899 im Hotel Krantz, jetzt Ambassador.

    Anlässlich des hundertsten Todestages Mark Twains am 21.04.2010 enthüllen Vertreter der Amerikanischen Botschaft in Wien eine Gedenktafel, um an Mark Twain und seine Verbundenheit mit Österreich und dem Hotel zu erinnern.

  • 2011

    2011

    Erweiterung des Hotels um 4 Apartments in den obersten Stockwerken des Hauses. Die modern und luxuriös ausgestatteten Apartments überzeugen mit einer privaten Atmosphäre und höchstem Komfort für kurze oder lange Aufenthalte.  

  • 2017

    2017

    Relaunch der Hotel Ambassador Webseite.

    Das Hotel Ambassador präsentiert seine neue Webseite, die unter Berücksichtigung modernster Technik und mit neuem Design erstellt wurde.

Tradition & Moderne

"Im feinsten Theile der Stadt gelegen und mit allem Comfort der Neuzeit ausgestattet" - so inserierte das Hotel unter dem Namen "Hotel Krantz" in der Wiener Zeitung Nr. 127 am Samstag, dem 04. Juni 1898, S. 12. Diese Selbstdarstellung gilt heute wie damals.

Völlig zu Recht lässt sich das Ambassador mit seinen über 100 Jahren Zeitgeschichte, als eines der traditionsreichsten Häuser der Stadt bezeichnen. Und dies nicht nur in Hinsicht auf seine Funktion als Hotel. Das Hotel Ambassador begegnete den Menschen im Laufe der Jahre in verschiedensten Funktionen und unter verschiedenen Namen. Das Spektrum reicht hierbei von der Nutzung als Privathaus über die Verwendung als exklusiver Ballsaal der höchsten Wiener Gesellschaft, vom Konzertsaal bis zum Nobelhotel. Luxus und Tradition in einem stilvollen Ambiente mit modernster technischer Ausstattung – so präsentiert sich das im Jahre 2000 liebevoll generalrenovierte Hotel Ambassador heute. Diese einzigartige Symbiose aus Tradition und Moderne, aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, aus Kunst und Genuss verleiht dem ehrwürdigen Haus das besondere Flair eines Spitzenhotels.

Persönlichkeiten

Wie ein roter Faden begleiten die Themenkreise Literatur, Architektur und immer wieder Musik die Geschichte des Hauses.

Musiker unterschiedlichster Epochen und Stilrichtungen fanden hier Inspiration und oft auch den geeigneten Rahmen, um mit ihren neuesten Kompositionen an die interessierte Öffentlichkeit zu treten. Von Mozart bis zur Gegenwart spannt sich der Bogen der Musiker, die hier verweilten, teils um zu musizieren, teils um zu komponieren oder zu entspannen. Werke von Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, Lanner, um nur einige zu nennen, wurden hier von den Meistern selbst dem musikbegeisterten Wiener Publikum vorgestellt. Franz Lehár war ein enger Freund des Hauses und überreichte 1930 den Besitzern des Ambassador Autographen, die heute noch alle im Hotel bewundert werden können.

Das spezielle Flair dieses Ortes ist jedoch nicht nur Musikern vorbehalten. Auch Schriftsteller, Schauspieler, Tänzer, Politiker, Mitglieder der Hocharistokratie, Geschäftsleute und Industrielle ließen und lassen sich von diesem Ort inspirieren und finden die notwendige Erholung und Ruhe.

Die kleinen Geheimnisse der großen Leute – so genannte "guest histories" – werden heute noch wie ein wertvoller Schatz im Karteikasten der Direktion verwahrt.

Ein kurzer Auszug aus der Gästeliste:

  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • Henry Ford III
  • Charles A. Lindbergh
  • Mark Twain
  • Thornton Wilder
  • H. C. Artmann
  • Marlene Dietrich
  • Romy Schneider
  • Josephine Baker
  • Maria Jeritza Seery
  • Martha Eggerth
  • Svatoslav Richter
  • Jan Kiepura
  • Franz Lehár
  • Robert Schumann
  • Louis Trenker
  • Ministerpräsident Jawaharlal Nehru
  • Kaiser Haile Selassie I
  • Prinz Xavier von Bourbon-Parma
  • Infantin Isabella von Spanien
  • Prinz Norodom Sihanouk von Kambodscha
  • Wilhelm Erbprinz von Hohenzollern
  • Prinzessin Elena von Griechenland
  • Prinzessin Marie Alexandra Victoria von Edinburgh

Direktbucher-Vorteile

  • Bestpreisgarantie
  • Keine zusätzlichen Gebühren
  • Individuelle Angebote Ihren Wünschen entsprechend
  • Persönlicher Kontakt bereits vor Ihrem Aufenthalt
  • 24-Stunden Conciergeservice
  • Kostenloses WLAN
  • Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage.